Forum
{{ post.commentCount }}

Didn't find anything.

{{ searchResult.errors[0] }}

Portugal *
Canceled Abandoned
:
vs
HT {{ maCtrl.match.homeScoreHT }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScoreHT }}
FT {{ maCtrl.match.homeScoreFT }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScoreFT }}
ET {{ +maCtrl.match.homeScoreET + +maCtrl.match.homeScoreFT }} : {{ +maCtrl.match.awayScoreET + +maCtrl.match.awayScoreFT }}
PEN {{ maCtrl.match.homeScorePEN }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScorePEN }}
Andorra *
{{ maCtrl.match.homeAggrWin ? maCtrl.match.homeTeam.name : maCtrl.match.awayTeam.name }} win {{ maCtrl.match.homeScoreAggr || 0 }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScoreAggr || 0 }} on aggregate {{ maCtrl.match.homeAggrWin ? maCtrl.match.homeTeam.name : maCtrl.match.awayTeam.name }} win on away goals rule after {{ maCtrl.match.homeScoreAggr }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScoreAggr }} aggregate {{ maCtrl.match.homeAggrWin ? maCtrl.match.homeTeam.name : maCtrl.match.awayTeam.name }} win {{ maCtrl.match.homeScorePEN }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScorePEN }} on penalties after {{ maCtrl.match.homeScoreAggr || 0 }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScoreAggr || 0 }} aggregate
Aggregate score {{ maCtrl.match.homeScoreAggr }} : {{ maCtrl.match.awayScoreAggr }}
  • {{ maCtrl.match.homeTeam.name }}
  • Goals
  • {{ maCtrl.lastname(event.player.name) }} ({{ event.elapsed }}')
  • Cards
  • {{ maCtrl.lastname(event.player.name) }} ({{ event.elapsed }}')
  • {{ maCtrl.match.awayTeam.name }}
  • Goals
  • {{ maCtrl.lastname(event.player.name) }} ({{ event.elapsed }}')
  • Cards
  • {{ maCtrl.lastname(event.player.name) }} ({{ event.elapsed }}')
{{ maCtrl.homeTeamPerformancePoll.totalVotes + maCtrl.awayTeamPerformancePoll.totalVotes }} Votes
Portugal vs Andorra
Team Performance
10 Comments
Ssiimmoonn 13 days ago
0 4
...And as for Andorra, I understand that it's good for their development when they play tough (=any) opponents - but there are PLENTY of constant opportunities for them in a PROPER competitive way (Euro/World Cup qualifications, or Nations League) - so that's a pretty invalid argument. I'm sorry but non-competitive match between Portugal vs. Andorra is nothing more but an embarassing effort to boost your team or individual statistics. I call BS on that! Don't compare it to Poland vs. Ukraine or Austria vs. Hungary or Latvia vs. Lithuania 'cause You Know those are matches between more or less equal quality teams, thus they're actually meaningful.
0
Fussas 13 days ago Edited
0 152
I don't understand, how is it an invalid argument? You actually seem to be agreeing with me that any matches are likely to benefit their experience... From your claim that this is all statistics boosting, allow me to ask you this: Should Argentina and Brazil be playing against Bolivia and Ecuador given that they are more than 60-80 ranking spots below? I guess that's just statistics padding for Messi and Neymar? It's not all about individual players man, team development matters for a lot.
1
  • History
Showing previous versions of this text.
I don't understand, how is it an invalid argument? You actually seem to be agreeing with me that any matches are likely to benefit their experience... From your claim that this is all statistics boosting, allow me to ask you this: Should Argentina and Brazil be playing against Bolivia and Ecuador given that they are more than 50 ranking spots below? I guess that's just statistics padding for Messi and Neymar? It's not all about individual players man, team development matters for a lot.
Ssiimmoonn 13 days ago
0 4
Fussas, so you're saying that an extra 1.5 - 2 hours on the plane would actually be a problem?? :D Come on, as if the football teams aren't used to travelling distances... It's not like Europe is that big, you know. They could've chosen to play against, say Morocco or Algeria for that matter. Which would actually be much more of a challenge for Portugal. It would make much more sense (but that would also mean that they could actually be defeated right?). And if they REALLY didn't want to travel, they could've just as well "stay in form" against their own U21/U19 teams. Much cheaper that way as well. And if they really & seriously wanted to play football, then why not travel 2 more hours to - for example - Greece/Albania/Kosovo/Bosnia/Slovenia etc.
0
binjai 13 days ago
0 1208
This is more of warming up, trying new players, trying new tactics.. If they go for more challenging match, they doesn't have that space for those I mentioned earlier. Also they need to get ready for more injury risk to those players too.
0
Fussas 13 days ago
0 152
But dude, Andorra HAS been playing other, farther off teams, most of the teams they play against are in the lower bracket of the rankings indeed. All I am saying is that there is nothing wrong with a lower ranking team playing versus an upper ranked team every now and then, it's a useful experience for both sides. Andorra played Portugal then, but they are playing against Malta right now and they played the Faroe Islands last month. Before that they played against Turkey and Iceland, two teams also vastly above Andorra in the rankings. My point is simply that there are good reasons for these matches
1
Lambo91 15 days ago
Juventus, Italy 0 4759
Expected result against a team like Andorra but we'll see what they can do against France
1
Ssiimmoonn 15 days ago
0 4
Can someone explain to me exactly what was the reason for this FRIENDLY (=non essential) match to even take place?? Is there any logic to it??? I mean, it's one of stronger european teams vs. one of the weakest and smallest nations in the world... Without trying to be offensive towards Andorra, do they even have professional footballers? Portugal's first team, (with all the stars!) would probably have harder time playing against their U19 team, or any other U19 team for that matter. Or any other U17 team... ?
So, when I think about it Really hard, could this match be used as a sort of a platform for someone like Ronaldo try to score like 2 hattricks or somethinig like that? I don't know, but it's pretty embarassing in any case...
What's next, Brazil vs. Gibraltar??
-1
serans 15 days ago
Manchester United, Poland 3 203
Simple, most of teams played friendlies with they closest neighbor's. Poland vs Ukraine, Denmark vs Sweden, Germany vs Czech etc. Big teams don't want to travel much when they have games in their countries in saturday. Nice to try few new tactics aswell.
1
Fussas 14 days ago
0 152
I'm curious, what would you propose as an alternative? Professional and national teams need opportunities to play against other teams to stay in form and practice teamwork and tactics. If anything, the relative lower professional standard of smaller nations renders such friendlies as even more important for their development. In this case, Portugal is one of the closer nations to Andorra. Both teams needed a friendly practice at the opening of the international break. Are you saying either team should have discriminated against the other on the basis of their skill differential? Should Mexico and the US just play each other continuously given that the next CONCACAF member is 30 ranking places down?
1
Ssiimmoonn 15 days ago Edited
0 4
Can someone explain to me exactly what was the reason for this FRIENDLY (=non essential) match to even take place?? Is there any logic to it??? I mean, it's one of stronger european teams vs. one of the weakest and smallest nations in the world... Without trying to be offensive towards Andorra, do they even have professional footballers? Portugal's first team, (with all the stars!) would probably have harder time playing against their U19 team, or any other U19 team for that matter. Or any other U17 team... ?
So, when I think about it Really hard, could this match be used as a sort of a platform for someone like Ronaldo try to score like 2 hattricks or somethinig like that? I don't know, but it's pretty embarassing in any case...
What's next, Brazil vs. Gibraltar??
0
  • History
Showing previous versions of this text.
Can someone explain to me exactly what was the reason for this match to even take place?? Is there any logic to it??? I mean, it's one of stronger european teams vs. one of the weakest and smallest nations in the world... Without trying to be offensive towards Andorra, do they even have professional footballers? Portugal's first team, (with all the stars!) would probably have harder time playing against their U19 team, or any other U19 team for that matter. Or any other U17 team... ?
So, when I think about it Really hard, could this match be a sort of a platform for someone like Ronaldo to score 2 hattricks or somethinig like that? I don't know, but it's pretty embarassing in any case.
What's next, Brazil vs. Gibraltar??
Can someone explain to me exactly what was the reason for this match to even take place?? Is there any logic to it??? I mean, it's one of stronger european teams vs. one of the weakest and smallest nations in the world... Without trying to be offensive towards Andorra, do they even have professional footballers? Portugal's first team, (with all the stars!) would probably have harder time playing against their U19 team, or any other U19 team for that matter. Or any other U17 team... ?
So, when I think about it Really hard, could this match be used as a sort of a platform for someone like Ronaldo try to score like 2 hattricks or somethinig like that? I don't know, but it's pretty embarassing in any case...
What's next, Brazil vs. Gibraltar??
Load More
. . . Speak Your Mind . . .
Please log in or sign up to comment.
  • SAY IT