enter image description here
Ronaldinho, Kaka, and Totti back in action! The World Cup for football stars is to be held in England

Eight national teams with renowned players will compete in the tournament.

In early June, an unusual World Cup will take place in England. It will feature star footballers over the age of 35. Eight national teams will participate in the tournament: Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Uruguay, Argentina, and England. It is known that the competition will be organized by the Elite Players Group - a group of former top-ranking players and sports businessmen who united last year. Moreover, the captains of each country are the founders of EPG.

The preliminary squads for the star-studded World Cup include five Ballon d'Or winners - Michael Owen, the Brazilian trio of Ronaldinho, Kaka, and Rivaldo, and Fabio Cannavaro from Italy.

The list of invited stars currently looks as follows:

  • England: Steve McManaman, Robbie Fowler, Michael Owen, Ashley Cole, Joe Cole, Rio Ferdinand, Frank Lampard, David James (gk).
  • Argentina: Esteban Cambiasso, Hernan Crespo, Pablo Zabaleta.
  • Brazil: Emerson, Kaka, Ronaldinho, Roberto Carlos, Rivaldo, Cafu.
  • Germany: Kevin Kuranyi, Mesut Ozil, Sami Khedira.
  • Spain: Michel Salgado, David Villa, Carles Puyol, Iker Casillas (pending doctor's approval).
  • Italy: Marco Materazzi, Fabio Cannavaro, Francesco Totti.
  • Uruguay: Diego Lugano, Diego Forlan.
  • France: Christian Karembeu, Thierry Henry, Marcel Desailly.

It is reported that matches of the star championship will be played in an 11-a-side format, each game lasting 70 minutes. Teams are allowed to make reverse substitutions during the match. A total of 18 footballers can be included in the squad.

Organizers have selected the timing of the symbolic tournament to take place between the Champions League final on June 1st and the start of Euro 2024 on June 14th. Seven rounds will be held in early June at one stadium over a week. The venue is currently unknown. However, negotiations are underway with some of the largest northern Premier League clubs regarding renting a suitable stadium.

The championship quarter-finals will occur on June 4th and 5th, the two semi-finals on June 8th, and the final on June 11th. EPG representatives are confident they will be able to resolve all logistical issues four months before the start of the championship. We are in for a summer filled with sports events!

Published by Patrick Jane